D-landFave diaries
CastD-rings
Fave PostingsFun Quotes
Older EntriesLeave me notes
Profile


just a bunch of stuff
2:16 pm * March 29, 2004
I really just don't understand sometimes.

The other day I'd heard something I wasn't supposed to hear. Well, because it was about my friend, I gave her a heads up on the situation. She proceeded to have an apoplexy, in the huge fit sense of the word, and then she was "stupid" the rest of the day.

Now, my reasoning for telling her was that if she heard someone talking about me, I'd want her to tell me. Well, she was yelling at me telling me it was MY fault that she felt bad and that I made her feel like shit. Because I told her. She wasn't talking to me when we parted ways the other night. I wish I could be all, "who cares," but I'm not. I feel bad. If I had known/realized she was going to get THAT upset I'd have kept my mouth shut. Even though, I'd still want to be told if someone was talking about me. If someone's talking about you, in a less than polite way, then there's a problem, and problems don't just get better if you don't take some sort of action to correct them. Example, if you have a splinter, it's not going to get better if you just ignore it. It'll just get deeper and deeper into your skin. Then, when you finally have no choice but to get it removed, it's way worse than it was to begin with.

One of the things she was saying when she was talking to me is that she doesn't know why people like me more than her. At the time a smart ass answer immediately popped to mind, but I didn't say anything, probably the smartest thing I did all day. Yes, the people she sees me with might like me more than her (her & I work together), but, part of the reason is probably that I do not take my personal problems out on my co-workers and customers.

If anyone, and yes I mean anyone, shows a little bit of interest in things with her, she will immediately go into great detail about her life and how horrible it is, and so on and so forth. If a customer doesn't want things bagged together or is picky about something she'll get ticked. Bang the groceries around a little or whatnot. And believe me, she's not the only cashier who does that, so keep an eye on things folks. For example the other day when she was all ticked at me, I went over to bag for her, and when the woman said she wanted her potatoes in a bag, she just about dropped them down into the bag (which was on a little counter). (I honestly don't care how people want their things bagged. Part of my job is to make sure the customers are happy. Basically, the customers are paying me my paycheck they stay happy & keep coming in, I keep getting paid, I WANT to make sure they're happy. Some people just don't get that, and those people shouldn't work in customer service. If you come to my line, and you tell me you want doubled paper bags, you'll leave with a cartfull f groceries in doubled paperbags, I won't smash anything, I won't smack things around, and I won't complain.) I got way off track on that rant there. I think that the reason people seem to like me more than her is because I'm genuinely nice to people. I'm not kissing peoples asses or being nice to them to help myself out in some way. I'm nice because that's just how I am. Every now and then she'll be in a good mood and she'll be nicer to people, and then she'll get annoyed because she's being nicer to them but they're not nicer to her. Maybe if she had been nicer to them when she'd seen them the other times, then they'd be nicer to her too. Well, I'm running late, and I need to go get ready.

Last * Next