D-landFave diaries
CastD-rings
Fave PostingsFun Quotes
Older EntriesLeave me notes
Profile


rules for life
1:55 pm * March 26, 2002
"Be Silly. Be honest. Be kind." Ralph Waldo Emerson

That would be a nice motto to live by, don't you think? I don't know if I could live life by those three things, but if I tried for a week and life was better... Well then I think I could learn to adapt to the change.

In the years since I've finished high school I've tried to send myself on little (for lack of a better term) journeys. At one time I was trying to learn all about different religions. Mostly because I felt that perhaps by having a more definite belief and a stronger understanding I'd be a happier person. Eventually I came to the conclusion that I was actually looking for some kind of category to belong in. So, I stopped trying to figure out what religion I should be. I just believe what I feel I should believe now.

Then not long after all of that I decided I should come up with some "Rules for Life" for myself. I had certain things I wanted to be on my list, but mainly, I wanted to know what other people had on their own lists. I asked people what their rules were and how they felt about this or that. What I ended up learning was that everyone seems to have a little code of rules they live their life by. In some cases it's not even intentional. One person I talked to about it e-mailed me about two weeks ago and the e-mail was all of the things she lives by. She was actually glad that I asked her because after realizing she was living her life the way her father lived his, she decided that was why she was so unhappy and angry. She's not like that anymore.

That was another journey that I just let die down and never really came to a conclusion for. Maybe it's time for me to start it back up.

"Dance like no one is watching. Sing like no one is listening. Love like you've never been hurt and live like it's heaven on Earth." Mark Twain
Oh, and did anyone notice (hear) anything different in yesterdays entry?

Last * Next