D-landFave diaries
CastD-rings
Fave PostingsFun Quotes
Older EntriesLeave me notes
Profile


-
1:02 am * April 09, 2007
The bad news

I guess it was around October when we got a call from one of our relatives telling us that my great grandmother was sick. I had just talked to her a couple of days before that and she told me she was okay. That she had a little cold but she was fine. Well the next news we got was that she had a blockage, and then my grandmother finally came clean and told us the whole truth. It was a tumor, and it was cancerous. The drs couldn't cut the entire thing out because it was too big and they couldn't do chemo because of her age. So, the plan was to shave it off and take it out a piece at a time. Things were going well, except that having never really been sick before she was suffering from cabin fever and just wanted to be at home.

The worst news

Well, it got worse, one day they were all happy because they'd been able to get a bigger piece out the day before, then the next day we find out she hasn't been eating and she's not really as lucid anymore. Now, they all are in MA, and we're in PA and we couldn't go to them. Which still pisses me off, but anyway, they hadn't told us any of this ntil it seemed like she might not make it. Until that point no one even implied she may not live. A few days later she died. I think that I'm probably going to miss her everyday for the rest of my life. Something will happen oor I'll get pictures back from getting developed and I automatically think, "Wait until I tell Grandma that! or ohh this one's for Grandma" and then it's like WHAM, yeah can't really do that can I? I guess eventually I'll get used to not thinking of her immediately when I want to share information or a photo (we were always sending photos back and forth) but it sure hasn't happened yet. Right now I'm still having a hard time just talking and thinking about her without choking up.

Last * Next