D-landFave diaries
CastD-rings
Fave PostingsFun Quotes
Older EntriesLeave me notes
Profile


The cottage (1,220)
12:40 p.m. * 2001-12-20

1,220 words...

When I told my family I wanted to go stay in the cottage, I think they thought I meant for a week as a vacation. I can be honest, I know they thought that. After all it is what I led them to believe. My driving the past six hours had only been hampered by the slightest twinge I felt for deceiving my family. I knew they would have tried to stop me if they knew I wanted to come to Maine to live permanently. They wouldn�t understand that my life would never be mine if I let them influence me as if I was still a child. In a few more hours I�d be at my grandmother�s house. I had called her earlier in the week and told her my plans; she supported my decision completely, but still wanted to talk to me face to face before letting me buy her cottage from her.

Grandma was at her door as soon as I turned my car off. I smiled and waved to her from inside my car. She was by my side within no time at all. �Are you going to get out of that car and give your grandmother a hug or are you planning on spending the night out her?� She opened my door and I got out and immediately wrapped my arms around her small frame. �Hi Grandma� Sorry about running a little late, traffic picked up going through Boston.� She smiled then and reminded me that just because tourist season was over didn�t mean people wouldn�t be commuting into the city just the same. I grabbed my duffel bag and followed her into her house.

Walking into her house has always given me a feeling of being welcomed back home. I wasn�t let down this time either. Her dog Gus, an adorable little beagle, ran up to us happy to have Grandma back inside and to see a new friend. Grandma pointed to a stool at the counter and I took a seat. It seemed like she wanted to get right down to the business at hand.

�You know I haven�t had much use for that cottage since your Great Grandfather died. I had considered selling it before now, so when I got the offer from the neighbor up there, I was pretty tempted. I mentioned it in the letter I wrote you, because he asked about you. You remember him dear, don�t you? Harold�s boy�Tristan.�

I was shocked, she hadn�t before told me that the Harold she mentioned was THAT Harold. Tristan and his family was still frequenting the cottage, and I told her as much. She gave me that knowing smile that grandmothers are known for and then proceeded to shock me even more.

�I thought that would get your attention. Every time I see him he asks about you. You must have made quite an impression on that boy over the summers you spent together.�

�But Gram, if he lives up in Maine why do you see him so much?�

�Oh that�s his weekend place dear.� she replied casually.

�His weekend place?� I was practically tripping over my own words. How could Tristan own his parents� old cottage? Tristan who used to say he�d never come back there once he got out of the required family trips. With a start I realized my grandmother was still talking about him.

�So, now he lives right down the road in the Smith�s old place.�

I practically yelped when I realized Tristan was right down the road, right now. I was not a happy camper. �How long has he been living here? Why didn�t you ever tell me he�s a neighbor? Oh my God, what am I going to do? Maybe I should just move into that place the office told me about.�

�The office?� Even Gram looked puzzled now. She had indeed been going for the shock factor but my last outburst had grabbed her attention away from her latest little scheme.

I explained that I had already gotten a job lined up and that they had found a temporary place for me to stay if my own plans for living arrangements fell through. Gram looked at me in a way I can only describe as slightly crestfallen, and said, �So you were going to move up there no matter what I had to say here tonight?�

I nodded and stared at the counter. �I know I should have told you that Gram, but I didn�t want you to feel you had to let me buy your place just because I knew for sure I wanted to live up there. I wanted to make sure you were really fine with it all. That was why I asked the people at work to make back up arrangements.�

She came around the counter and put her arm around me. �Honey, I�m going to let you buy the place no matter what. There is nothing up there for me anymore. I�m glad you�ll be so much closer to me now. I�ve missed having family up here. But, I still think you need to tell your parents. Heaven knows they�re going to say I talked you into all of this.�

�I�m tired of being the baby in the family. I�m 20 years old and they treat me as if I�m 10. I just couldn�t deal with it anymore. I was packing my bags into the car and Dad came out to give me money for the trip. Does he just chose to forget that I�ve been paying my own way since I got out of school?�

�It�s hard for parents to let their kids grow up sweetie. Especially when it�s Daddy�s little girl.� Chuckling she suggested we both get some sleep and then figure out what to tell my folks in the morning.


I knew I had over slept when I saw how bright the room was. I stretched and yawned, then went back to snuggling under the soft comforter my grandma had provided the night before. I was looking around my room noticing the little things that had changed since the last time I had been there when I saw the note on the dresser. I grabbed the note, and unfolded it. I recognized my grandma�s writing immediately.

�Susie, you were sleeping quite soundly so I decided not to wake you. I had to go downtown to the Post Office and the store, so I should be back around noon. Feel free to make yourself at home. Tristan will be coming by today, it�s his normal day, he shouldn�t be here until 1pm, but if he is early or I am late, tell him to help himself to some coffee and whichever of your Grandfather�s books he�d like to borrow this week. Oh, and that I�ll be home soon for us to talk more. He�s a sweet boy dear, and he seems to think quite a lot of you. Well that�s all I can say if I plan to be back by noon. Love Gram.

PS The coffee is still warm!�

I jumped out of bed and ran to the shower. I was in the middle of dressing when the doorbell rang. It was 12:35�Gram was late and he was early�or she was setting me up.

------------to be continued---------

Last * Next