D-landFave diaries
CastD-rings
Fave PostingsFun Quotes
Older EntriesLeave me notes
Profile


The Speeding Ticket... second half of the story
1:40 pm * July 07, 2002
The second half...


My mother drove me home after her party and I immediately fell asleep. It had been a long and eventful day afterall. Since I didn�t work the next day I didn�t even bother to set my alarm. The alarm that while I was slowly waking up, I thought I heard. I smacked the snooze button a couple of times before I realized that it wasn't my alarm I heard, it was my doorbell. I pulled my blanket around me and stumbled through my house towards my front door. I thought I was still dreaming when I looked out the peep hole and saw Officer Stevens. I opened my door and mumbled something about good morning. Officer Stevens looked good in his civilian clothes, a thought that made me pull the blanket around me a little tighter.

�Morning Ms� Liliana. After you left last night I realized your book was still in the back of the patrol car. So I brought it back for you.�

�Thank you. I�d be more excited and all that you found it and brought it back if it were a nice normal hour to be awake on a Saturday morning.� I said with a smile. All the while hoping to high Heaven I didn�t have horrible bed head.

�I was also wondering something Liliana.�

�What�s that?�

�Well would you like to go for breakfast? I just finished my shift and I�m starving.�

�Can I have a few minutes to get ready?�

�Of course!�

He sounded as surprised as I felt. I didn�t even realize I was going to say yes until I heard myself say it.

�Make yourself comfortable.�

I hustled back to the shower and got myself together as quickly as I could. It only took me half an hour. Which I don�t think is tyoo shabby, considering it was 7 AM. I walked into the living room carrying my shoes.

�So do I pass inspection?� I sat down beside him on the couch and slipped on my sandals.

�Sure do. You�re all ready?�

�Yep, just need to grab my keys.�

We got into his vehicle� Well actually, it�s a jeep and he opened my door, I got in, unlocked his door, and then he got in. I didn�t give that too much thought when it was happening, but later on it seemed significant. We talked a little on the drive to the small diner that he declared was his favorite. But we only talked about neutral things. TV shows, current events, music, those kinds of topics. When we went into the diner I was reminded of Cheers. These people all knew my Officer Stevens. We sat at a small table in the back. The waitress came to our table prepared with a menu for me and coffee for him.

She asked, with a southern accented voice, �Having your normal Sugga?�

He grinned, and it was a great grin too, at her and said, �Yes please�.

She turned to me, �What about you Dahlin?�

�I�ll have a sausage and cheese omelette with homefries and a large rootbeer please.�

He laughed. �Aside from the rootbeer, that�s my normal breakfast.�

The waitress looked back and forth between the two of us, made a note on her pad, and said, �Two of the regular, got it.�

I asked him about how he became a cop. He asked what my profession was. We talked and talked all through our breakfast. The waitress even chided us about letting our food get cold. It was almost two hours later when we actually realized the time. I asked hm when he normally went to bed after an all night shift. He said he normally was asleep by 7:30, but that he�d rather talk with me than sleep. We talked more on the way back to my house. We both seemed a little sad that our time seemed to be over for the day.

He walked up to my door with me and I impulsively hugged him. He hugged me back just as hard. He went home to sleep, I checked my answering machine and returned some calls. All the while hoping I�d see Officer Stevens again, soon.

I smile even now remembering. We began seeing each other pretty often after that. We still go out on dates and we still talk about everything under the sun, only there is one difference now.

He�s my husband, officer Michael Stevens. Sometimes, a speeding ticket can be a blessing

~*Liliana*~

:)

Last * Next